The Home Stretch

Here we are.  2 weeks left in DC.  Somehow this year has flown right by.  I’ve realized that I have to remind myself about the impending two weeks as much as possible because it really hasn’t hit me yet.  Although I don’t doubt that as soon as I leave work for the last time on July 28 it  will seem all too real and if it doesn’t hit me then it definitely will on my last day at Church of the Pilgrims on the 31st…and if both of those fail I will definitely have a happy little melt down on the 3rd of August as soon as I hop on the plane back to Tucson!

Another big date coming up is this Sunday when I’ll be giving my final sermon at Church of the Pilgrims!  I’m planning for it to be sort of a year in review and I’ll be posting it on here either Saturday night or Sunday morning so stay tuned for that!  However I did write (an hour before the service started) a call to worship this past Sunday  which got really nice feedback so I thought I would share that with all of you lovely people now!

Behind this building, there is a garden

A garden full of life, full of fruits, full of veggies, full of worms

If you have ever worked in a garden, you know that for however much life there is in a garden, there is also a considerable amount of death.

But we don’t let the death overcome the life of our gardens!

We thank the death for the life it once brought us then we discard of it to make room for new life!

This is a practice that we need to do in the garden that is our life!

Just like in the garden, once we make way for new life within ourselves, we are able to grow more fruitful than we once thought achievable, we are able to blossom brighter than we ever imagined!

However, we cannot make these changes with God, the gardener of our life, by our side.

As the Psalmist writes: Where can I go from your spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go to the heavens you are there, if I make my bed in the depths you are there.  If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.

Let us worship God.

Some YAVs/YAV Alum might recognize some of the words at the end.. I took it from a YAV song that is really close to my heart.  I really love incorporating YAV wording in the liturgy that I share at Pilgrims.  I never thought I would have become a bonafide liturgist in my YAV year but I guess YAV years work in mysterious ways!

Lastly (for now) I wanted to give a brief update on fundraising for my upcoming second year serving as a YAV only this time I’ll be in Asheville, NC!  In my last couple blogs I left some instructions on how to join me in making donations towards my YAV year and I’d like to extend a huge and grateful THANK YOU to all of you who have supported me thus far.  These contributions for my year help to pay for things like transportation to and from retreats, rent and utilities for the YAV house and many other miscellaneous expenses throughout my year.  I am required to raise at least $3,000 to support my efforts this year and all of the donations will be tax deductible!

That being said, there are two new ways that my Site Coordinator in Asheville has asked us to start fundraising.  This is because the YAV site in Asheville is coordinated through a local non-profit in Asheville called Hands and Feet of Asheville.  These two fundraising outlets can be found on the Hands and Feet of Asheville’s website here.  The first is by clicking on the button that says “Donate” on the website and the second is to send in a donation via snail mail!  The mailing address is also available on the website here.  Another way to donate online is through this link here!  All donations will be going to Hands and Feet of Asheville.

Thanks again to all that are supporting me in my YAV years financially, prayerfully or even if it’s just in a few words of encouragement here and there.  It really makes me feel appreciated and I really appreciate all of YOU!

Until next time, stay safe and God bless!

Leave a Reply

